Welcome to Dalwood Parish
Dalwood is a small friendly pretty vibrant rural Devon village, although prior to 1844 it was in the County of Dorset. Dalwood Parish has a population of about 400. It is mainly a livestock farming area, hence the wonderful rolling green hills and valleys interspersed with woodland and copse. This makes it ideal habitat for most of our native birds and animals, including the recent arrival of a pair of Otters.
Dalwood is situated just off the A35, about 5 miles west of Axminster and 7 miles east of Honiton. The Village lays between two ridges of the Blackdown Hills, in the valley of the Corry Brook, a tributary of the Yarty which is, in turn, a tributary of the Axe. It has been designated an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty since 1991. The scenery, wildlife, geology and heritage make this a wonderful place to visit and explore.
The first known reference to the village is in a pipe roll of 1195. In 1345 Dalwood was granted the right to hold an annual fair by Edward III, which would suggest that Dalwood was a village of some importance in mediaeval times. A copy of the Royal Charter can be found hanging in the lovely St. Peter's Church. The traditional country style Fair which takes place on the 3rd Saturday in August attracts around two thousand visitors every year and is well worth a visit.
As well as the Parish Church the village boasts a Methodist Church, the Tuckers Arms Public House where you will find a warm welcome, good food and real local ales. The building is believed to be one of the oldest in Dalwood and dates back to the mediaeval times.
There is a Nursery (formerally the village primary school), a Reading Room, which is currently cunningly disguised as a snooker hall (members only), a Village Hall, which used to be the first village school. The village also has a Community Owned Shop and Post Office (now in its 10th year) which was built by and is entirely managed and staffed by unpaid volunteers.